Runboard.com
You're welcome.
Zenith Comics: http:/zenithcomics.com ... For the latest mayhem go to http://earth-alpha.blogspot.ca/ Musings and mayhem from Andrew Collas

runboard.com       Sign up (learn about it) | Sign in (lost password?)

Page:  1  2  3 

 
AndrewCollas Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

Administrator

Registered: 08-2012
Location: Master Control
Posts: 214
Karma: 4 (+4/-0)
Reply | Quote
Re: Revised Supers! - Optional Rules Thread (unofficial)


I have a player using it as an Omni Power and if he fails the activation roll he takes 1d of damage as a limitation.

I see nothing wrong with the power as written and more so I agree with Dustland's assessment of the power over all. emoticon

---
=-=-=-=-=-=-=
"The English language is the product of Norman invaders attempting to pick up Anglo-Saxon women. The resulting language is about as legitimate as the resulting offspring." — From the Internet
9/13/2012, 2:24 am Link to this post Email AndrewCollas   PM AndrewCollas Blog
 
GWB83 Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

Registered user

Registered: 09-2012
Posts: 114
Karma: 3 (+3/-0)
Reply | Quote
Re: Revised Supers! - Optional Rules Thread (unofficial)


Another wacky idea/possible house-rule:

When a defense succeeds by more than 6, the attacker takes 1d of Will or Composure damage.

It is sort of like a counter-attack. The threshold of 6 could be adjusted - this has not been play-tested at all. Or perhaps this could be a boost option that you could tag on to a defensive power.

Last edited by GWB83, 9/13/2012, 8:41 pm


---
Gary Brown
www.whimstorm.com
9/13/2012, 5:43 pm Link to this post Email GWB83   PM GWB83 Blog
 
Reidzilla Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

Registered user

Registered: 09-2012
Posts: 16
Karma: 1 (+1/-0)
Reply | Quote
Re: Revised Supers! - Unofficial Optional Rules Thread


quote:

Darkpaladin67 wrote:

Since we are just brainstorming here, I thought I would mention an option that my group really likes. I have mentioned it before over at rpg.net, but thought I should bring it up here.

We call it the counter attack option. It uses the basic rules as written but makes one small change.

Ever notice in the comics that a villain can hold off an entire hero team on his own, but when he joins the team, his power level seems to suddenly become on par with the others? This option replicates this circumstance.

When a character attacks another, it will generate a counterattack in return. That was if a group attacks the 'big bad', he will get to counter attack each hero in turn. (As long as he does not run out of powers) Thus, if a team of four heroes attack the villain, the villain can attack 5 times in a round (4 counter attacks plus the normal attack). (Of course, the rules of not being able to use a power more than once still applies.

Of course, heroes can counterattack the bad guys as well. Minions do not have the ability to counterattack.

If you do not have a power to counterattack with, you can choose to go on the defensive, granting to one die to that particular defense roll.

The big bad will seem more cinematic without having to inflate the dice of the villain. Second, it will reduce the benefit of characters being one trick ponies as more diverse characters will have more ways to counter attacks.
 
Our group has playtested this and has really liked how it worked, but it might be too major a change for this revision. However, I did want to present it here for discussion.



I like this a lot. I'm not sure it would fit with every genre of superheros but as an optional rule, it rocks!
9/15/2012, 9:46 pm Link to this post Email Reidzilla   PM Reidzilla Blog
 
Dustland Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

Registered user

Registered: 09-2012
Posts: 244
Karma: 3 (+3/-0)
Reply | Quote
Re: Revised Supers! - Optional Rules Thread (unofficial)


Ran a one shot game for some friends a few weeks ago, using Supers to run a Ghost Recon style game where the two characters were Spec Ops armed and armored with ultra hi-tech gear (think custom Iron Man suits). They were tasked with slipping into Mexico to help fight a communist insurgency across the border by taking down some anti-aircraft equipment and secure a bridge.

One of my players wanted to make some called shots for extra damage (wanted to take down a sentry with one shot so as not to alert other rebels). While I had called shot rules for targeting equipment ready to roll, I hadn't really thought about this.

I decided to allow the character to reduce the dice he rolled to attack with in exchange for extra dice if he hit on a 1d:2D basis. So he could roll his Shooting 3D but only use 2D; if he hit, he could roll an additional 2D and add it to the total to figure damage.

Worked pretty well for the scene, but we never used it again (after taking down the one guard, it was easier to sug it out with the rest). Just though I'd share!
4/9/2013, 3:19 pm Link to this post Email Dustland   PM Dustland Blog
 
novaexpress Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

Registered user

Registered: 09-2012
Posts: 35
Karma: 0 (+0/-0)
Reply | Quote
Re: Revised Supers! - Optional Rules Thread (unofficial)


Hi Dustland,

Thank you for sharing.
That's a good idea, and for now, I don't see how any called shot for extra damage would be ruled differently.

---
Sorry for my English, but i's not my primary language.
4/10/2013, 5:35 pm Link to this post Email novaexpress   PM novaexpress Blog
 
urbwar Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

Registered user

Registered: 09-2012
Posts: 183
Karma: 4 (+4/-0)
Reply | Quote
Re: Revised Supers! - Optional Rules Thread (unofficial)


This thread over on The Rpg Site is about Composure Damage and how to interpret it when Composure hits 0.

While writing my reply, I made a suggestion on recovering Composure if you're at 0. My suggestion was spending 2-3 Competency Dice to bring the character back to 1D. This would be the character "snapping" out of whatever effect they are under. If they don't have enough Comp dice, other characters can spend theirs to assist, as long as they can justify how they are doing so. Any thoughts on this? Does it sound workable in the spirit of the rules? It could also possibly be used for other Resistances, but I was specifically thinking about Composure when I came up with this.

5/26/2013, 11:26 am Link to this post Email urbwar   PM urbwar Blog
 


Add a reply

Page:  1  2  3 





You are not logged in (login)