Runboard.com
You're welcome.
Zenith Comics: http:/zenithcomics.com ... For the latest mayhem go to http://earth-alpha.blogspot.ca/ Musings and mayhem from Andrew Collas

runboard.com       Sign up (learn about it) | Sign in (lost password?)

Page:  1  2  3 ... 6  7  8 

 
Darkpaladin67 Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

Registered user

Registered: 09-2012
Location: Southern New England
Posts: 202
Karma: 5 (+5/-0)
Reply | Quote
Re: Revised Supers! - Powers (not including Boosts/Comps)


i don't agree with the default being one form only. I rather see there be a possible power limitation (Only arctic animals, only mammals, only a jaguar, etc.)

We could treat the shape as more of a special effect for the power. That way we do not have to slow things down with specific powers.

For example. Shapeshifter has 4D in shape change. In round one, he gets attacked. He changes into a bird and flies away using the 4D for evasion. Since he has now used Shape Change this round, he cannot use it again until next round.

Next round he goes on the offensive. He shapeshifts into a rhino and uses his 4D as a ramming attack.

In the example above. He does not have 4D of flight or superstrength or any specific power. However the narrative may give him the benefit of such abilites. He would be using the power to gain a limited degree of flight in the same way someone could use a power like Elemental Control/Air to lift them off the ground. It is a more narrative approach instead of trying to stat everthing out, but it feel right for this game.

Also, this method is balanced with other powers such as elemental control or energy control in that it could be used for various applications, yet keeping it simple.

If we start getting stuck in the details, we may have to go back and define things like how much superstrength someone gets with growth or density increase, or how fast someone can flight using EC-wind...etc. I rather not open that can of worms.

Using this method we can avoid any specifics and eliminate keeping track how the the dice are allocated, making it easier for all involved. You are not duplicating specific powers, but are using a bit of handwavium to get the 'effect' of those powers.

Also, this could be presented as more of a clarification instead of a rules rewrite as the rules as written now state that you do not get the actual power.

Then again, this is for my houserules only. I have no idea and little input into what the final rules will look like. I can only offer my humble suggestions.

Last edited by Darkpaladin67, 2/1/2013, 5:15 am
2/1/2013, 4:52 am Link to this post Email Darkpaladin67   PM Darkpaladin67 Blog
 
Dustland Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

Registered user

Registered: 09-2012
Posts: 244
Karma: 3 (+3/-0)
Reply | Quote
Re: Revised Supers! - Powers (not including Boosts/Comps)


i don't agree with the default being one form only. I rather see there be a possible power limitation (Only arctic animals, only mammals, only a jaguar, etc.)

I kind of agree, but I don't know that I'd say you can change into anything; maybe broad categories for 1D each. It seems like being able to change into anything could get out of control quickly. Maybe that's just my concern, players stepping on other player's feet by being able to do EVERYTHING with the right form.

Also, this method is balanced with other powers such as elemental control or energy control in that it could be used for various applications, yet keeping it simple.

Sir, you may have sold me on your idea right here! I guess if it's only being used once a round, what is the difference between E. Form and Shape Change, other than the fluff?
2/2/2013, 1:56 am Link to this post Email Dustland   PM Dustland Blog
 
urbwar Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

Registered user

Registered: 09-2012
Posts: 183
Karma: 4 (+4/-0)
Reply | Quote
Re: Revised Supers! - Powers (not including Boosts/Comps)


Since I've been up all night at work, and can't seem to find any threads mentioning this (though I know it's been discussed before), I figured I'd ask here to have it where I can find it easily next time I space on the answer emoticon

In regards to Super Weaponry, does the automatic complication add 1D to the power like a regular complication, or is it just inherent to that power? As I said above, I know this came up before, but I'm spacing on the answer. I only thought of it as I was working on a villain who I was planning on giving the power to.
3/13/2013, 10:22 am Link to this post Email urbwar   PM urbwar Blog
 
Dustland Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

Registered user

Registered: 09-2012
Posts: 244
Karma: 3 (+3/-0)
Reply | Quote
Re: Revised Supers! - Powers (not including Boosts/Comps)


I don't recall an "official" thread on the subject, but everyone I've dealt with handles it as a normal Complication (+1D to the power), it's just you HAVE to take it.

And rumor has is compulsory Complications are out in the revision so you won't see this rule again emoticon
3/13/2013, 4:29 pm Link to this post Email Dustland   PM Dustland Blog
 
urbwar Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

Registered user

Registered: 09-2012
Posts: 183
Karma: 4 (+4/-0)
Reply | Quote
Re: Revised Supers! - Powers (not including Boosts/Comps)


quote:

Dustland wrote:
And rumor has is compulsory Complications are out in the revision so you won't see this rule again emoticon



I didn't have a problem with this, as the power is called "Super Weaponry". My only problem was that the description didn't elaborate on whether the complication actually gave you the extra 1D for taking it, or was just part of the power itself. Having those complications always made sense to me; they were just ill defined as to how they were applied for this specific power
3/14/2013, 12:51 am Link to this post Email urbwar   PM urbwar Blog
 
Dustland Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

Registered user

Registered: 09-2012
Posts: 244
Karma: 3 (+3/-0)
Reply | Quote
Re: Revised Supers! - Powers (not including Boosts/Comps)


For me the issue with compulsary complications is that there are plenty of examples that don't fit the mold that they create. Many times, maybe even more often than not, the complications make sense for Super Weaponry, but not always.

You can still take the Device and Touch Attack complications, they're even mentioned as examples I believe, but they simply aren't required.
3/14/2013, 1:20 am Link to this post Email Dustland   PM Dustland Blog
 
urbwar Profile
Live feed
Blog
Friends
Miscellaneous info

Registered user

Registered: 09-2012
Posts: 183
Karma: 4 (+4/-0)
Reply | Quote
Re: Revised Supers! - Powers (not including Boosts/Comps)


quote:

Dustland wrote:

For me the issue with compulsary complications is that there are plenty of examples that don't fit the mold that they create. Many times, maybe even more often than not, the complications make sense for Super Weaponry, but not always.

You can still take the Device and Touch Attack complications, they're even mentioned as examples I believe, but they simply aren't required.



I get that. I just never found it to be an issue myself, as the concept made sense, but was just ill defined.
3/14/2013, 6:51 am Link to this post Email urbwar   PM urbwar Blog
 


Add a reply

Page:  1  2  3 ... 6  7  8 





You are not logged in (login)